Dave Connis

NameOAuthor

Biography

Dave Connis writes words you can sing and words you can read. He's an ex-librarian living in Chattanooga, Tennessee with his wife, two kids (son and daughter), and a dog that barks at non-existent threats. When he's not writing young adult or middle grade fiction, he interprets software developer speak as a Technical Writer at Skuid, a Chattanooga startup. He's also a member of the Jedi Council and facilities manager at the Sanctum Sanctorum.

 


Schedule

1:45 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.
State Library, Second Floor Meeting Room
Discussion
You’ve Got to Stand for Something: Young Adult Rebels

2:45 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Barnes & Noble Bookselling Tent
Book Signing


NameOAuthor

Suggested Reading

In this hilarious and thought-provoking contemporary teen standalone that’s perfect for fans of Moxie, a bookworm finds a way to fight back when her school bans dozens of classic and meaningful books.

Clara Evans is horrified when she discovers her principal’s “prohibited media” hit list. The iconic books on the list have been pulled from the library and aren’t allowed anywhere on the school’s premises. Students caught with the contraband will be sternly punished.

Many of these stories have changed Clara’s life, so she’s not going to sit back and watch while her draconian principal abuses his power. She’s going to strike back.

So Clara starts an underground library in her locker, doing a shady trade in titles like Speak and The Chocolate War. But when one of the books she loves most is connected to a tragedy she never saw coming, Clara’s forced to face her role in it.

Will she be able to make peace with her conflicting feelings, or is fighting for this noble cause too tough for her to bear?

Suggested Reading is a beautiful reminder that there is nothing simple about loving a book.” —David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Mosquitoland

Volunteer

Book-loving volunteers are essential to the Louisiana Book Festival's success. Whether it's escorting authors, guiding visitors, selling refreshments, working with children in the Young Readers Pavilion or other fun and rewarding assignments, the Louisiana Book Festival wants you to join the volunteer team.

Read More

Twitter
  •  

Follow on Twitter

We are social
Quick Email