Michelle Schusterman

NameOAuthor

Biography

Michelle Schusterman is the author of Olive and the Backstage Ghost, as well as the middle grade series The Kat Sinclair Files and I Heart Band. Her unique career in education includes several years as a Texas high school band director, conversational English instructor in Brazil, kindergarten ESL teacher in South Korea, and creative writing workshop instructor in New York. She currently lives in Queens with her husband and their chocolate lab.


Schedule

2 p.m. to 2:45 p.m.
State Library, Second Floor Meeting Room
Discussion
Ghosts with the Most: Paranormal Middle Grade Fiction

3 p.m. to 3:45 p.m.
Barnes & Noble Bookselling Tent
Book Signing


NameOAuthor

Olive and the Backstage Ghost

A ghost story with a literary heart for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline and The Graveyard Book. Theater kids and ghost-story readers alike will find new meaning in the term stage fright.

All great theaters have their ghosts. . . .

After Olive Preiss freezes during a theater camp audition, she flees in despair. She finds herself at Maudeville, a beautiful old theater that she’s never noticed before. She enters, goes onstage, and sings her song. “Thank you for that lovely audition, darling,” comes a voice from the shadows. “I believe I have just the part for you.”

Olive is thrilled to work with Maude Devore, the glamorous actress who owns the theater, and her eclectic cast of misfits. Yet gradually there are signs that Maudeville isn’t exactly what it seems. Sometimes—just for a moment!—it feels wrong. As opening day approaches, Olive’s doubts and fears grow. But no matter what, this show must go on . . . and on . . . and on. . . .

“Equal parts heart and bone-deep creepiness.” —Claire Legrand, author of The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls

Volunteer

Book-loving volunteers are essential to the Louisiana Book Festival's success. Whether it's escorting authors, guiding visitors, selling refreshments, working with children in the Young Readers Pavilion or other fun and rewarding assignments, the Louisiana Book Festival wants you to join the volunteer team.

Read More

Twitter
  •  

Follow on Twitter

We are social
Quick Email