Jasmine Warga

NameOAuthor

Biography

Jasmine Warga is the internationally-acclaimed author of Other Words For Home, My Heart and Other Black Holes, and Here We Are Now. Her books have received multiple starred reviews and have been translated into more than 25 different languages. Originally from Ohio, these days she lives with her family in a book-filled apartment in Chicago.


Schedule

1:30 p.m. to 2:15 p.m.
State Library, Fifth Floor Capitol View Room
Discussion
Blended by Choice: Middle Grade Family Stories

2:30 p.m. to 3:15 p.m.
Barnes & Noble Bookselling Tent
Book Signing


NameOAuthor

Other Words for Home

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new label of “Middle Eastern,” an identity she’s never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Volunteer

Book-loving volunteers are essential to the Louisiana Book Festival's success. Whether it's escorting authors, guiding visitors, selling refreshments, working with children in the Young Readers Pavilion or other fun and rewarding assignments, the Louisiana Book Festival wants you to join the volunteer team.

Read More

Twitter
  •  

Follow on Twitter

We are social
Quick Email