Jasmine Warga

NameOAuthor

Biography

Jasmine Warga is the author of Here We Are Now and My Heart and Other Black Holes. Her books have been translated into over twenty different languages. She lives and writes in Cincinnati, Ohio. When she was fifteen, much to her teacher’s dismay, she elected to write about Kurt Cobain for her research paper, forever cementing her obsession with brooding music.

 


Schedule

11:30 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.
State Library, First Floor Seminar Center
Discussion
Holding On and Letting Go: Memories, People and Hope

12:30 p.m. to 1:15 p.m.
Barnes & Noble Bookselling Tent
Book Signing

4 p.m. to 5 p.m.
State Library, First Floor Seminar Center
Discussion
Our #OwnVoices


NameOAuthor

Here We Are Now

A book about love, loss, and the power of music, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and Fangirl. 

Taliah Sahar Abdallat lives and breathes music. Songs have always helped Tal ease the pain of never having known her father. Her mother, born in Jordan and very secretive about her past, won’t say a word about who her dad really was. But when Tal finds a shoebox full of old letters from Julian Oliver—yes, the indie rock star Julian Oliver—she begins to piece the story together.

She writes to Julian, but after three years of radio silence, she’s given up hope. Then one day, completely out of the blue, Julian shows up at her doorstep, and Tal doesn’t know whether to be furious or to throw herself into his arms. Before she can decide, he asks her to go on a trip with him to meet her long-estranged family and to say good-bye to his father, her grandfather, who is dying.

Getting to know your father after sixteen years of estrangement doesn’t happen in one car ride. But as Tal spends more time with Julian and his family, she begins to untangle her parents’ secret past, and discovers a part of herself she never recognized before.

By the acclaimed author of My Heart and Other Black Holes, this is an intergenerational story of family and legacy and the way love informs both of those things. It’s about secrets and the debt of silence. It’s about the power of songs. And most of all, it’s about learning how to say hello. And good-bye.

Volunteer

Book-loving volunteers are essential to the Louisiana Book Festival's success. Whether it's escorting authors, guiding visitors, selling refreshments, working with children in the Young Readers Pavilion or other fun and rewarding assignments, the Louisiana Book Festival wants you to join the volunteer team.

Read More

Twitter
  •  

Follow on Twitter

We are social
Quick Email